zit
5 years agoOne-liner description at the beginning of the script
Giuseppe Bilotta [Thu, 24 Oct 2013 19:27:45 +0000 (21:27 +0200)] 
One-liner description at the beginning of the script

9 years agozit clone command
Giuseppe Bilotta [Fri, 18 Dec 2009 16:39:36 +0000 (17:39 +0100)] 
zit clone command

10 years agoCheck own name for command
Giuseppe Bilotta [Thu, 19 Feb 2009 02:05:33 +0000 (03:05 +0100)] 
Check own name for command

When zit is invoked with a different name than zit, it will issue its
own name as command. This is especially useful with the newly introduced
zig and zik commands to call tig and gitk respectively.

10 years agosupport tig in view
Giuseppe Bilotta [Thu, 19 Feb 2009 01:48:52 +0000 (02:48 +0100)] 
support tig in view

If $DISPLAY is not set or gitk could not be found, try tig instead, and
complain if it can't be found either.

10 years agozit with command
Giuseppe Bilotta [Thu, 19 Feb 2009 01:35:46 +0000 (02:35 +0100)] 
zit with command

The syntax:

$ zit with somefile foo bar

is equivalent to launching 'foo bar' with GIT_DIR and GIT_WORK_TREE set
up to somefile's zit/git context.

10 years agozit view command to fire up gitk
Giuseppe Bilotta [Mon, 9 Feb 2009 01:48:54 +0000 (02:48 +0100)] 
zit view command to fire up gitk

10 years agozit import command
Giuseppe Bilotta [Mon, 9 Feb 2009 00:16:42 +0000 (01:16 +0100)] 
zit import command

When rcs-fast-export is found in path, zit import can be used to import
RCS-tracked files into zit, with full history.

10 years agorefactor zitdir initialization
Giuseppe Bilotta [Mon, 9 Feb 2009 00:05:19 +0000 (01:05 +0100)] 
refactor zitdir initialization

10 years agoShow file status in zit list, and document it
Giuseppe Bilotta [Sat, 25 Oct 2008 11:31:35 +0000 (13:31 +0200)] 
Show file status in zit list, and document it

10 years agoUse current Zit or Git dir for exclude file
Giuseppe Bilotta [Sat, 25 Oct 2008 10:40:12 +0000 (12:40 +0200)] 
Use current Zit or Git dir for exclude file

We put the generic exclude file in $ZIT_DIR, if it's present, or in $GIT_DIR
otherwise. This solution is more robust than the previous one relying on
~/.zitignore, since it doesn't set the config up with absolute paths, and it's
also cleaner as it doesn't create files outside of the Zit/Git dirs.

The diskspace saving is not as strong, since we still need at least one exclude
file per directory with tracked content, but it's still at least one block
cheaper than using the standard per-repo exclude file .git/info/exclude, since
we go for .somefile.git/exclude in the worst case.

10 years agoUser .zitignore file
Giuseppe Bilotta [Sat, 25 Oct 2008 08:10:31 +0000 (10:10 +0200)] 
User .zitignore file

All Zit repositories share the same ignore file containing the single '*'
glob, so we create one in the user directory and use that instead of wasting
one block per repo.

10 years agoCleaner initial repositories
Giuseppe Bilotta [Fri, 24 Oct 2008 19:59:37 +0000 (21:59 +0200)] 
Cleaner initial repositories

Typical Zit usage doesn't need most of the stuff that Git makes use of: hooks,
branches, tags etc. They are automatically recreated as needed anyway.

10 years agozit list supports .zit/* repos
Giuseppe Bilotta [Fri, 24 Oct 2008 12:09:22 +0000 (14:09 +0200)] 
zit list supports .zit/* repos

10 years agoAllow storage of repos inside .zit
Giuseppe Bilotta [Fri, 24 Oct 2008 11:56:50 +0000 (13:56 +0200)] 
Allow storage of repos inside .zit

Since tracking many files independently in the same directory would create a
large number of .*.git directories, we allow the use of a .zit subdirectory to
collect all repositories in.

The command 'zit init' without any arguments serves the purpose of creating
.zit/, and 'zit track somefile' will create .zit/somefile.git instead of
.somefile.git if .zit/ exists.

For all other commands, we do look for an existing .somefile.git if .zit/
exists but .zit/somefile.git does not.

10 years agozit-to-git command delegation fixes
Giuseppe Bilotta [Thu, 23 Oct 2008 16:06:14 +0000 (18:06 +0200)] 
zit-to-git command delegation fixes

Many git commands behave correctly at the repository level, so we remove the
$ZIT_FILE from the parameter list for most commands.

Some commands do need the filename, so for add and commit we add it back.

10 years agoRemove useless shift
Giuseppe Bilotta [Thu, 23 Oct 2008 14:54:30 +0000 (16:54 +0200)] 
Remove useless shift

10 years agoSimplify repository structure
Giuseppe Bilotta [Thu, 23 Oct 2008 14:44:42 +0000 (16:44 +0200)] 
Simplify repository structure

We abandon the .zit.file/.git idea to switch to a structure where the Git dir
is just .file.git, and the working tree is the current directory.

This has the advantage of not requiring non-portable and fragile hardlinks,
although it requires a rather drastic .file.git/info/exclude file to simulate
the one-file repository.

10 years agoDraft usage/help
Giuseppe Bilotta [Thu, 23 Oct 2008 00:23:14 +0000 (02:23 +0200)] 
Draft usage/help

10 years agoZit track = init, tracked = list
Giuseppe Bilotta [Wed, 22 Oct 2008 23:53:48 +0000 (01:53 +0200)] 
Zit track = init, tracked = list

10 years agoEarly bailout in case of missing filename
Giuseppe Bilotta [Wed, 22 Oct 2008 17:45:42 +0000 (19:45 +0200)] 
Early bailout in case of missing filename

10 years agoZit: delegate all other commands to git
Giuseppe Bilotta [Wed, 22 Oct 2008 17:40:41 +0000 (19:40 +0200)] 
Zit: delegate all other commands to git

10 years agoZit list command
Giuseppe Bilotta [Wed, 22 Oct 2008 17:38:44 +0000 (19:38 +0200)] 
Zit list command

10 years agoRefactor Zit init
Giuseppe Bilotta [Wed, 22 Oct 2008 17:05:46 +0000 (19:05 +0200)] 
Refactor Zit init

10 years agoRefactor Zit setup
Giuseppe Bilotta [Wed, 22 Oct 2008 17:04:42 +0000 (19:04 +0200)] 
Refactor Zit setup

10 years agoZit only works on files in the current directory
Giuseppe Bilotta [Wed, 22 Oct 2008 17:00:33 +0000 (19:00 +0200)] 
Zit only works on files in the current directory

10 years agoInitial commit
Giuseppe Bilotta [Wed, 22 Oct 2008 16:53:20 +0000 (18:53 +0200)] 
Initial commit